starting.something

This summer I’m going to work on a few creative non-fiction essays to push myself, and take Jill Soloway‘s advice and you know, actually write if I’m going to be a writer.

I thought I would post some of the topics here to initiate conversation with YOU either here [read post below] or in real life if we’re so lucky as to be able to spend time together.

I have said before that I’ve already begun an essay based on an certain incident where the guy I was dating googled, “What if I have a small vagina?” [I can only imagine the comments you would leave for that one…], here are some other topics, but no more revealing the punch lines:

  • frustration with the “He’s just not that into you.” movie and general attitude.
  • Los Angeles.
  • post-grads with no job/gradschool…the liminal space we inhibit.
  • WRITING.                  […and reading]
  • being a bridesmaid.
  • weddings, marriage, etc. [especially for young people like us]
  • Grosgebarbie origin and adventures.
  • my problem with hipster activists [also known as t-sips, Crazy A’s, and people like them].
  • WTF is up with the F word today [you know I have to do a feminism one].
  • girl crushes [and mentors].
  • guy friends who clue you into the way guys really think [or guy writers].
  • The Hills and other reality shows we feel are ripping off our REAL lives.
  • “What I think about when I’m suppose to be doing my final relaxation in yoga” and other work-out follies.
  • twitter, facebook, stumble, visualize.us, and the other formats for connecting.
  • being a Texan.
  • “What if I was a lesbian?” sororities, etc. the hush about homosexuality in College Station as seen by a straight, white girl.

So in your comments or convos, I’d love for you to either share a story about you and one of these topics [involving me or not], a memory, something you read/saw, or what you hope this topic will grow into.

All in all, I want to end the summer with 6 good, no GREAT essays and I need your energy and encouragement to get there.

art-6ed9bfe9ac34ae78115b27a54cdb6c2e_h

One response to “starting.something

  1. Alright…so for our next skype conversations I think that the topics should be discussed in the following order:
    1) WTF is up with the F word today [you know I have to do a feminism one] – perhaps amalgamate this with Texas and the lack of ownership of young women to understand feminism (even third wave feminism…which is awesome!!) – ok and then does this tie in with young marriage [ie. sense of security, cultural pressure of the necessity of having a man in your life, need to be “completed” with your “other half”…etc] – in addition what does this mean for women in the sense that as you are having you quarter life crisis…an important time when you are reflecting on what is important to you and what direction your life should be headed…they are in charge of planning weddings?? -and what may i ask is the man doing at this point [see that feminist article with ‘Fuck that noise’ quote…why is it always the womans job!??!]…ok sorry bit of a rant…

    2) ‘What if i have a small vagina’ – PLEASE do this story…i love it and all the possible directions that you would take it.

    3) twitter, facebook, stumble, visualize.us, and the other formats for connecting. – Please…i do not even understand twitter…

    4) “What if I was a lesbian?” sororities, etc. the hush about homosexuality in College Station as seen by a straight, white girl. – You are thinking of the formal story aren’t you?!? Also think about the dichotomous relationship that exists where all male stereotypes of ‘sorority’ girls having pillow fights and making out…but if any girl was to actually be a lesbian she would be reprimanded and seen as an embarrassment

    5) work-out follies…i almost would guarantee make me smile!

    Ok…so that is my little opinion…and can’t wait to have a chat about it! I have to go study for exams now…whatever you do stay away from the ‘social construction of nature’ that shit is boring!

    love!
    Sarah

    ps…i am looking forward to the podcast and vandal!!

Leave a Reply

