05.04:top.10.posts

I’ve been distracted lately by the following elements:

  • giving my baby EIC over to her new parents.
  • trying to finish up my classes, that I barely even started in the first place.
  • packing up the house that has held me together these past five years.
  • celebrating with friends for various reasons.

Today’s top ten [as I listen to Amy Goodman and DNow’s Pete Seeger’s bday celebration]:

Pete Seeger at 90: Surviving–and Winning–the Political Culture War | Mother JonesWe Shall Overcome: An Hour with Legendary Folk Singer & Activist Pete Seeger.

REPORTER: Hi, Pete. Back here. How are you doing? Happy birthday. Describe, if you will, what this night is like for you, to have all these great artists here honoring you.

PETE SEEGER: Well, normally I’m against big things. I think the world is going to be saved by millions of small things. Too many things can go wrong when they get big. Look at the scalpers that got into the act with this particular evening, doubling the price of tickets. But it, needless to say, was a great honor, and these absolutely fantastic musicians.

Jezebel – Is 30 The New 20? Christ, I Hope Not – 30 Is the new 20.  I feel this way already and I’m only 23. [I don’t have boobs to sag so…]

What once terrified me about aging is actually what comforts me now. Yeah, I don’t go to concerts that much anymore, but that’s because they’re too loud and my feet and knees hurt by the time the opening bands are done. And I don’t throw house parties anymore, but that’s because I like my area rug too much to risk having stuff spilled on it. And, I don’t drink 40s anymore, but that’s because getting drunk on $3 worth of malt liquor seems to have lost its appeal.

Even though there have been changes (like being kept awake at night by work, taxes, and homeowner’s insurance claims), I’m ultimately the same person, just a hopefully improved version. I’m not as angry, intimidated, foolish, or reckless as before. I’d be lying if I said that the state of my boobs isn’t a concern, but I’ll take some sagging, so long as it comes with some sagaciousness.

If life is a snow globe, then I’m happy to have made it past the part where I’m shaken-up and can barely see through the frenetic flurry of events, and welcome the new phase in which some things are still up in the air, while others are calmly falling into place.

Jezebel – Cosmo ‘s Helen Gurley Brown: Maybe Not Such A Bad Girl After All – Helen Gurley Brown.  I like any alternative view of powerful women, especially when they can detail “an unjustly overlooked feminist icon.”

and then there’s Naomi Wolf’s review, Book Review: ‘Bad Girls Go Everywhere : The Life of Helen Gurley Brown’ by Jennifer Scanlon – washingtonpost.com, which may explain why she hasn’t answered my email about vandal.

Bank Profits, Banker Pay and Other Banker Tricks | CommonDreams.org. By Jim Hightower, speaking in College Station tomorrow night.

Mortgaging the White House | CommonDreams.org. By Bill Moyers

Did America Forget How to Make the H-Bomb? | Mother Jones. This is why it is important to study history!

t r u t h o u t | Rights, Not Raids.

When the Obama administration reiterated recently that it will make an immigration reform proposal this year, hopes rose among millions of immigrant families for the “change we can believe in.” That was followed by a new immigration position embraced by both the AFL-CIO and the Change to Win unions, rejecting the expansion of guest worker programs, which some unions had supported.

As it prepares a reform package, the administration should look seriously at why the deals created over the past several years failed, and consider alternatives. Beltway groups are again proposing employment visas for future (post-recession, presumably) labor shortages and continued imprisonment of the undocumented in detention centers, which they deem “necessary in some cases.” Most disturbing, after years of the Bush raids, is the continued emphasis on enforcement against workers.

We need a reality check.

Truthdig – Arts and Culture – White House All Atwitter.

Truthdig – Reports – Buying Brand Obama.

The Obama brand is about being happy consumers. We are entertained. We feel hopeful. We like our president. We believe he is like us. But like all branded products spun out from the manipulative world of corporate advertising, we are being duped into doing and supporting a lot of things that are not in our interest.

3358542349_95247fc92e

062_allaround_1

062_allaround_2

the lovers, the dreamers, and me.

songs_about_rainbows-connection-1225

Leave a Reply

