04.09:top.10.reads

Vermont’s “Happily Ever After” | Mother Jones.

gaymarriage-300x250300wide250high

The MoJo Interview: David Sedaris | Mother Jones.

MJ: When did you feel like you were a writer? Did you have an “aha!” moment where you said, “I’m a writer”?

DS: When my first book came out and I was living in New York and there was a bookstore around the corner from me and they had my book in the window, I thought that looking at my book in the window would make me think that I’m a writer. It just made me think, “I have a book.” It wasn’t a bad feeling. I realized, “Oh, having a book doesn’t mean you’re a writer; it could just mean you’re lucky.” Maybe when I started writing for The New Yorker, because to me, “writer” was always a pretty big word, and I always thought, “Okay, if I’m calling myself a writer, what does that mean for people like Flannery O’Conner? Now that’s a writer. I’m just a typist.” I would call myself a typist and whenever they would ask my occupation on an immigration form going to another country, I would write, “Typist.” I think sometimes, “Well, gosh, if I wasn’t a writer I probably wouldn’t be in The New Yorker.” You know, when I get down on myself I think, “Well, I’m in The New Yorker. That’s okay.”

Men’s Underwear Sales, Greenspan’s Economic Metric, Reveal Crisis.

Truthdig – Ear to the Ground – Shoe-Thrower Catches a Break. [which reminds me, I need to write about what I learned from Karl Rove]

3237740493_d22dc56bfd3

Jezebel – Glamour Tries Not To Make A Big Deal Of Its Plus-Size Model – Glamour Magazine.

Expect sparks as the Senate takes up energy legislation | Grist. Bingaman is talking nuclear…Greenpeace, please do something.

Timothy McSweeney’s Internet Tendency: Teddy Wayne’s Unpopular Proverbs..

Free Will.

You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink alcohol with you just because you rationalize that as long as you’re not imbibing alone you don’t have a serious drinking problem.

Racism of the Absurd: Chia Pets & Fried Chicken | racismreview.com.

  • Contributors to RacismReview are scholars and researchers from sociology and a number of other social science disciplines and a variety of academic institutions across the U.S.
  • RacismReview is intended to provide a credible and reliable source of information for journalists, students and members of the general public who are seeking solid evidence-based research and analysis of “race,” racism, ethnicity, and immigration issues, especially as they undergird and shape U.S. society within a global setting.We also provide substantive research and analysis on local, national, and global resistance to racial and ethnic oppression, including the many types of antiracist activism.
  • Launched in 2007, RacismReview is produced and maintained by Joe R. Feagin, Texas A&M University and Jessie Daniels, CUNY- Hunter College.
  • Tofu license plate too foul for Colo. DMV – The Denver Post. So as I travel to Denver this weekend to visit the parents…beware of Tofu lovers, who may seem to only be expressing their love of the food, really just want to F me?  Welcome to Denver.

    BBC NEWS | UK | Magazine | How to change a plug… in verse.

    Sales of poetry books are down, but one way to reinvigorate this traditional art form could be to make it functional. We invited four poets to reinterpret the familiar, humdrum procedures of daily life, in verse form.

    Do You Own Facebook? Or Does Facebook Own You? — New York Magazine. Um, good question…

    “Facebook’s new Terms of Service: ‘We Can Do Anything We Want With Your Content. Forever,’ ” it read. “Facebook’s terms of service used to say that when you closed an account on their network, any rights they claimed to the original content you uploaded would expire. Not anymore. Now, anything you upload to Facebook can be used by Facebook in any way they deem fit, forever, no matter what you do later.”

    Leave a Reply

    