03.30:top.10.reads

Know Your Place: Congressman Wants Michelle Obama To Shut Up And Look Pretty.  Congressman is trying to create a Michelle Obama Clause.  Fuck that noise.

Three Mile Island, the NRC and Obama. My birthday is the anniversary of Three Mile Island–which must have something to do with my strong feelings for disarmament.

Yes Means Yes on To The Contrary – Feministing.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “untitled“, posted with vodpod

Victim or survivor? – Community.

When discussing rape, it is absolutely essential for victim/survivors to refer to themselves in whatever way makes them most comfortable. I have no issue with people who consider themselves survivors. But I am not going to give up my victimhood any time soon. For me, it is extremely important that I identify as the victim of a perpetrator . Oh sure, I’m still alive, so it wouldn’t be inaccurate to call me a survivor. I did survive, after all, and I’m actually doing pretty well now. I don’t think about it often, I’m capable of having consensual sex without crying (and I even enjoy it now!), and I can talk about sexual assault calmly and rationally. I’ve learned from my horrible experiences, and I’m pretty much fine now.

A mandarin’s plea for climate action | Gristmill: The environmental news blog | Grist.

The reason for 2009’s unique importance, he explained, is that “climate change is forever. Terrible though the consequences of war and recession are, they pass. But the nature of the climate is such that the future cannot redeem today’s mistakes.”

Cap, trade, and health care? | Gristmill: The environmental news blog | Grist.

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid [D-Nev.] said he is open to financing an overhaul of the U.S. health-care system with revenue generated from efforts to rein in greenhouse gas emissions.

Spoiled: Organic and Local Is So 2008 | Mother Jones.

Gwen Ifill’s Truth | Mother Jones.

For a decade, Gwen Ifill’s been a fixture on PBS’s Washington Week and The NewsHour, the mild-mannered staples of capital-S serious TV news. “You may not see me tweeting soon,” she confesses, but she says she’s happy to see bloggers burst the Beltway bubble. Mother Jones caught up with Ifill during a schedule packed with nightly shows and a national tour for her new book, The Breakthrough: Politics and Race in the Age of Obama. Ifill shared her thoughts on moderating Sarah Palin, being spoofed by Queen Latifah, and checking the rabid fervor of Obamamanics: “Calm down, people…Prepare to be disappointed—that’s almost inevitable.”

To Boycott Israel…or Not? — In These Times.

At the height of the war in Gaza, author Naomi Klein endorsed the campaign known as Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS). A coalition of Palestinian groups founded the BDS movement on July 9, 2005, as a way for the international community to put pressure on Israel to reach a negotiated settlement with the Palestinians.

In her syndicated column, Klein wrote, “It’s time. Long past time. The best strategy to end the increasingly bloody occupation is for Israel to become the target of the kind of global movement that put an end to apartheid in South Africa.”

Jodi Lipper and Cerina Vincent: The Millionaire Matchmaker Knows How To Love Like a Hot Chick….because I basically love any show that Bravo puts out.

Photos I found over the weekend

A Liberian blogger:

dsc_0612-500x332

Obama wedding photo, 1994.

slide_1276_18957_large

Comma Sutra

6a00d8345157d269e200e54f1f5f978834-640wi

Leave a comment